A voice for endangered species - this is the mission of the Association for Wildlife Protection. The AWP was founded to foster and implement nature and species conservation projects. One of the foci of our work is initiatives for environmental education and strengthening local social and civil-society structures. We strive to build networks, create synergies and protect endangered species worldwide from extinction.

Our vision is to preserve biodiversity and create a society that is aware of this importance and committed to protecting it.

A non-profit species conservation organization.

current projects

AWP has been supporting and implementing species conservation projects worldwide since 2011. We are currently active in Cameroon and the Danube Region.

Cameroon

In Cameroon, we are active in gorilla protection with a two-prong focus. Our educational project is aimed at school-age children and youths in key areas and strives to create understanding and awareness of the life and importance of gorillas.

In Takamanda National Park, we support cooperatives in the growing of organic cocoa beans and selling them at fair market prices. In return, the local people work to protect the highly endangered Cross River Gorilla.

Danube region

More plastic than fish. 4 tons of plastic flow from the Danube into the Black Sea – every single day. We are committed to a clean river rich in life. Therefore Andreas Fath is swimming the length of the Danube in summer 2021. 2,857 kilometers.

We accompany him on his journey with our project cleandanube – swimming for a pure and plastic-free river which contains four parts: “campaign”, “education”, “research” and “film”.

Projects and partner worldwide

Project films at a glance

cleandanube

Danube region
cleandanube is a transnational project that provides people living along the Danube with the skill set to take environmentally-sound action in order to preserve the river’s unique landscape; whose pollution by macro- and microplastics is neither sufficiently understood nor effectively prevented.

Therefore Andreas Fath is swimming the length of the Danube in summer 2021. 2,857 kilometers.

Go to website

Danube Diversity

Danube region
In our project Danube Diversity, we profiled people along the Danube who have their own point of view of the river as well as their personal concerns regarding it. They open up new vistas on the significance of the river as a natural and cultural landscape. In this film, you will meet Martina from Belgrade, Lana from Vukovar, Cili from Budapest, Thomas from Vienna and Dr. Gehring from Donaueschingen.

Go to website

Youth Camps

Danube region
In the summer of 2019, three international youth camps were held in Vienna, Budapest, Vukovar and Belgrade as part of the Danube Diversity Project. In these camps, young people tackled environmental issues in workshops and presentations. Under professional guidance, they made films on local issues and became active in the environment, for example, by building bee gardens.

Go to website

#artofdanube

Danube region
From the Black Forest to the Black Sea – in the summer of 2018, the world’s longest Danube picture went on tour. The painter Ana Tudor captured the unique Danube landscapes and their endangered plant and animal life on a kilometer of canvas. Downstream, we exhibited the painting in 14 cities and 8 countries, providing information about endangered species along the Danube. As part of the touring exhibition, we launched creative events with local partners that dealt with the transnational habitat of the Danube and its precious nature.

Go to website

Great Apes Education Program

Cameroon
Within key areas of Cameroon, we are using the educational program “Respect for the Remaining 250 Cross River Gorillas!“ to address children and teenagers in schools. Our intent is to bolster support in the region for the international Cross River Gorilla Action Plan and create an understanding of the plight of the animals. Together with the WWF Germany and Cameroon, the WCS Cameroon, ERuDeF plus numerous experts, the AWP compiled educational content that is now taught by teachers in this region.

The survival of the Cross River Gorillas

Cameroon
In June 2016, AWP traveled with WCS across the Takamanda-Mone region on a research mission. In addition to handing over cybertrackers, we also held talks on planned projects and set up networks. Our colleague in Cameroon, Bedwin Ngwasina, visited communities and schools in the Cross River region in order to get a picture of the situation.

We also made a movie about the flight of the Cross River Gorillas.

AWP`s first project along the Danube

Danube region
Nature conservation in Serbia: Together with the WWF, the AWP is committed to wildlife protection on the Danube. The biodiversity in Gornje Podunavlje is an important part of Europe. In 2014 the AWP supports the national park with 18 bicycles and 8 binoculars in order to promote ecotourism and “enjoy nature with dignity”.

AWP's first projects

worldwide
This film provides an overview of the first eight films made by the Association for Wildlife Protection. Shown, in addition, are two project ideas which were planned at that time. The film takes us to Peru, Cameroon, Estonia, Armenia, Indonesia, Serbia, Cameroon, Madagascar and South Africa, which shows how diverse AWP projects are.

The Wildliferun - an interactive game

Cameroon
Together with leading wildlife conservationists, such as WWF, ERuDeF, the Wildlife Conservation Society and ACF, AWP has developed an interactive group video game. The “crowd game,” takes a holistic approach to education, brings players closer to issues like species conservation and sustainability. We intend to go on the Wildliferun Tour” together with expert conservationists. The aim is to help people gain a better understanding for the life and importance of endangered species.

Great Fish River Reserve

South Africa
The AWP aids the Eastern Cape Parks and Tourism Agency (ECPTA) in releasing elephants into the Great Fish River Reserve. To this end, the association and its South African partner ECPTA invited scientists and landowners to a workshop to discuss the introduction of more elephants into the Great Fish River Nature Reserve. To protect against poachers and monitor the animals in the park, the AWP has also donated a drone with night vision to South Africa.

Philippines, Cambodia and Vietnam

Southeast Asia
In January 2018, the Association for Wildlife Protection visited three different projects in Southeast Asia. The projects are funded by the Stiftung Artenschutz (Foundation for Species Protection). AWP made a donation to the foundation and wanted to learn more about the work they do and its commitment to the protection of endangered species. Financial support was provided for the protection of the highly endangered golden-headed langur in Vietnam and for a turtle enclosure in the ACCB in Cameroon.

The Sumatra Tiger

Indonesia
Sumatra, Indonesia is the home of the endangered Sumatra Tiger. Fires, logging, monoculture farming and hunting increasingly threaten the remaining population. AWP gave camera traps to WWF Indonesia to be used to observe the tiger population as well as to track down poachers. In addition, images captured by the cameras can be used to prove the existence of tigers in certain areas and promote their protection.

AWP in the Caucasus region

Armenia
No other forests in the world within the moderate climatic zone shows a greater biodiversity than what is found in the Caucasus Mountains. Today only one quarter of the entire region remains intact and pristine. There are many rare species, such as the Caucasus leopard, wolf, lynx, Caucasian ram and brown bear. AWP went to Armenia to make a gift of a Lada SUV for the protection of local wildlife. The SUV will aid patrols in their job to halt poachers.

Gorillas in the Campo Ma'an National Park

Cameroon
Armed with 20 camera traps and a field laboratory, AWP traveled to Cameroon in March to aid the work of the WWF in the Campo Ma’an National Park. Camera traps help to monitor endangered species as well as keep track of the population and its existence. Moreover, a field laboratory equipment was provided to monitor the health of the gorillas. It should help in the detection of diseases and prevention of disease transfers between animals and humans in order to avert epidemics.

Pilot project: Danube painting

Danube region
After learning of Ana Tudor’s record-breaking painting, AWP went to Serbia to talk to the artist about a large touring exhibition and the painting. A pilot project would allow the organization to garner experience with the painting and implement small exhibitions in the region. The enthusiastic feedback from the visitors of the exhibitions as well as the positive experiences with the painting encouraged the AWP to launch the project on a grand scale along the Danube and to prepare a corresponding project.

The European Mink

Estonia
The AWP supported the breeding of the highly endangered European mink. We promoted the breeding station Tiit Maran at the Tallin Zoo in Estonia. Increasing industrialization and agricultural development is driving the European mink out of its habitat. River regulations and water pollution conspire to place extraordinary stress and pressure on the mink. On the top of this, the fur industry introduced the American mink, which competes for the indigenous mink’s food sources and habitat. Having been exploited by humans, the European mink is regarded as one of the most endangered mammals in Europe today.

A protected area along the Rio Tapiche

Peru
In contrast to many other unprotected areas in the Amazon region, human influence along the Rio Tapiche is still quite small while the forest remains largely untouched. Within a relatively small area is a great variety of habitats and species – up to 18 primate forms can be found here. AWP lent its support to Opportunities for Nature in their effort to make the area a protected zone with the donation of two wooden boats. One has an internal combustion engine for fast transportation, while the other is solar-powered for environmentally friendly and noiseless travel.

An auto workshop for Dzanga-Sangha

Central Africa
AWP’s first project was the financing of an auto workshop for Central Africa. The Dzanga-Sangha National Park is home to countless species that includes the western lowland gorillas. In cooperation with WWF Germany, equipment for repairing vehicles was shipped to Central Africa and assembled up there. In addition, equipment for the rangers was distributed. Thanks to the workshop, local organizations can now have their vehicles serviced and repaired, so they can continue their efforts in wildlife conservation. Moreover, work and training positions were created with the workshop.

Mobile Cinema for environmental education

Madagascar
The AWP has set up a mobile cinema in Madagascar, which serves as an essential component of an educational measure for nature and species conservation. The special feature of the cinema is, it can be operated by muscle power to generate electricity. A bicycle drives a dynamo that generates electrical power. Images can be projected onto the screen in the middle of the jungle without the need of a power cable. The film library includes informational videos about Madagascar’s unique but endangered animal world.

Eine Stimme für gefährdete Arten - das ist die Mission der association for wildlife protection. Die AWP wurde gegründet, um Natur- und Artenschutzprojekte zu fördern und umzusetzen. Ein Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeit liegt auf Initiativen zur Umweltbildung und der Stärkung sozialer und zivilgesellschaftlicher Strukturen vor Ort. Wir wollen Netzwerke aufbauen, Synergien schaffen und gefährdete Arten weltweit vor dem Aussterben bewahren.

Unsere Vision ist der Erhalt unserer Artenvielfalt sowie eine Gesellschaft, die sich deren Bedeutung bewusst ist und sich für ihren Schutz einsetzt.

laufende Projekte

Seit 2011 unterstützt und realisiert die AWP weltweit Artenschutzprojekte. Aktuell sind wir in Kamerun und im Donauraum aktiv.

Kamerun

In Kamerun sind wir mit zwei Projektschwerpunkten im Gorillaschutz aktiv. Unser Bildungsprojekt wendet sich an Kinder und Jugendliche in Schulen der Schlüsselgebiete und hat zum Ziel, Verständnis und Bewusstsein für das Leben und die Bedeutung der Gorillas zu schaffen.

Im Takamanda Nationalpark unterstützen wir Kooperativen dabei, Kakaobohnen biologisch anzubauen und zu fairen Preisen zu verkaufen. Im Gegenzug setzen sich die Einwohner zum Schutz des stark gefährdeten Cross-River Gorillas ein.

Donauraum

Forscher haben in der Donau mehr Plastikteile als Fischlarven gefunden. Über 4 Tonnen Plastik gelangen ins Schwarze Meer. Jeden Tag.

Wir setzen uns für einen sauberen Fluss voller Leben ein. Dafür durchschwimmt Andreas Fath im Sommer 2021 die gesamte Donau. 2.857km. Wir begleiten ihn mit unserem Projekt cleandanube – swimming for a pure and plastic-free river, das einen Kampagnen-, Bildungs-, Forschungs- und Filmteil enthält.

Projekte und Partner weltweit

Projektfilme im Überblick

Cleandanube

Donauraum
Das transnationale Projekt „CLEANDANUBE – swimming for a clean and plastic-free river“ vermittelt der Bevölkerung entlang der Donau Kompetenz zu umweltgerechtem Handeln für eine einzigartige Flusslandschaft, deren Verschmutzung durch Makro- und Mikroplastik weder ausreichend wahrgenommen noch wirksam verhindert wird.
Dafür durchschwimmt Andreas Fath im Sommer 2021 die gesamte Donau. 2.857km – vom Schwarzwald bis zum Schwarzen Meer.
Weitere Informationen auf cleandanube.org

Danube Diversity

Donauraum
Im Rahmen des Projektes “Danube Diversity” haben wir Persönlichkeiten entlang der Donau portraitiert, die ihren eigenen Blick auf den Fluss sowie ihr persönliches, mit ihm verbundenes Anliegen haben. Mit den Filmportraits wollen wir die gesellschaftlich und kulturell unterschiedlichen Hintergründe von Menschen an der Donau einfangen. Dieser Film zeigt alle sieben Portraits flussabwärts: Dr. Gehring aus Donaueschingen, Thomas aus Wien, Cili aus Budapest, Ana aus Sonta, Lana aus Vukovar, Martina aus Belgrad und Leon aus Ghindărești. awpwildlife.org/danubediversity

Jugendcamps

Donauraum
Im Sommer 2019 fanden im Rahmen des Projektes “Danube Diversity” in Wien, Budapest sowie Vukovar und Belgrad drei internationale Jugendcamps statt. In den einzelnen Camps setzten sich die Jugendlichen in Workshops und Vorträgen mit  Umweltthemen auseinander. Unter professioneller Anleitung erstellten Sie Filme zu lokal relevanten Problemstellungen und wurden für die Umwelt aktiv, indem sie bspw. Bienengärten bauten.

#artofdanube

Donauraum
Vom Schwarzwald bis zum Schwarzen Meer – im Sommer 2018 ging das längste Donaubild der Welt auf Reisen. Die Malerin Ana Tudor hat die einzigartigen Donaulandschaften und ihre bedrohte Pflanzen- und Tierwelt auf einem Kilometer Leinwand festgehalten. Flussabwärts stellten wir das Gemälde in 14 Städten und 8 Ländern aus und informierten dabei über gefährdete Arten entlang der Donau. Im Rahmen der Wanderausstellung setzten wir mit lokalen Partnern kreative Veranstaltungen um, die sich mit dem länderübergreifenden Lebensraum Donau und seiner kostbaren Natur auseinandersetzen. awpwildlife.org/artofdanube

Great Apes Education Program

Kamerun
Mit dem Bildungsprogramm unter dem Motto „Respect for remaining 250 Cross River Gorillas!“ wenden wir uns an die Kinder und Jugendlichen in den Schulen der Schlüsselgebiete in Kamerun. Wir wollen damit den internationalen Cross-River-Gorilla-Aktionsplan in der Region flankieren und Verständnis für die Situation der Tiere schaffen. Gemeinsam mit dem WWF Deutschland und Kamerun, dem WCS Kamerun, ERuDeF und weiteren Experten hat die AWP Bildungsinhalte zusammengetragen. Durchgeführt wird das Projekt von durch die AWP ausgebildeten Lehrerinnen und Lehrern aus der Region.

Das Überleben der Cross-River-Gorillas

Kamerun
Im Juni 2016 war die AWP für eine Forschungsreise gemeinsam mit dem WCS in der Region Takamanda-Mone unterwegs. Neben der Übergabe von Cyber-Trackern haben wir Gespräche über geplante Projekte geführt und Netzwerke aufgebaut. Unsere Mitarbeiterin Bedwin Ngwasina hat Communities und Schulen in der Cross-River-Region besucht, um sich ein Bild von der Lage vor Ort zu machen.

Das erste Donauprojekt der AWP

Serbien
Naturschutz in Serbien: Die AWP setzt sich mit dem WWF für den Wildtierschutz an der Donau ein. Der Artenreichtum im Gornje Podunavlje ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil Europas. Um den Ökotourismus zu fördern und so “Natur mit Würde genießen” zu können, unterstützt die AWP 2014 den Nationalpark mit 18 Fahrrädern und 8 Ferngläsern.

Die ersten Projekte der AWP

Weltweit
Dieser Film zeigt die ersten acht Projektfilme der asscoiation for wildlife protection im Überblick – zudem werden zwei Projektideen aufgeführt, die zum damaligen Zeitpunkt geplant waren. Die Ausschnitte führen uns nach Peru, Kameru, Estland, Armenien, Indonesien, Serbien, Kamerun, Madagaskar sowie Südafrika und zeigen, wie vielfältig die Projekte der AWP ausgerichtet sind.

The Wildliferun - an interactive game

Kamerun
Gemeinsam mit führenden Artenschutzakteur*innen, wie dem WWF, ERuDeF, the Wildlife Conservation Society und der ACF, hat die AWP ein interaktives Gruppen-Videospiel entwickelt. Das “Crowdgame” bringt den Spielerinnen und Spielern Themen wie Artenschutz und Nachhaltigkeit mit einem holistischen Bildungsansatz spielerisch näher. Gemeinsam mit erfahrenen Artenschützer*innen wollen wir schließlich auf “Wildliferun-Tour” gehen. Ziel ist ein besseres Verständnis der Bevölkerung für das Leben und die Bedeutung der bedrohten Arten in ihrem Umfeld zu erreichen.

Great Fish River Reserve

Südafrika
Die AWP unterstützt die Eastern Cape Parks and Tourism Agency (ECPTA) bei der Auswilderung von Elefanten im Great Fish River Reserve. Dafür hat sie gemeinsam mit ihrem südafrikanischen Partner ECPTA Wissenschaftler und Grundbesitzer zu einem Workshop geladen, um die Einführung weiterer Elefanten im Great Fish River Nature Reserve zu diskutieren. Zum Schutz vor Wilderern und für das Monitoring der Tiere im Park, hat die AWP zudem eine Drohne mit Nachtsichtgerät gespendet und nach Südafrika geschickt.

Philippinen, Kambodscha und Vietnam

Südostasien
Im Januar 2018 besuchte die association for wildlife protection drei Projekte in Südostasien, die von der Stiftung Artenschutz gefördert werden. Die AWP hat die Stiftung mit einer Spende unterstützt und wollte mehr über die Arbeit in den Projekten und den Einsatz zum Schutz bedrohter Tierarten erfahren. Mit finanziellen Mitteln konnte der Schutz der stark gefährdeten Goldkopflanguren in Vietnam unterstützt sowie ein Schildkrötengehege im ACCB in Kamerun finanziert werden.

Der Sumatra-Tiger

indonesien
Auf Sumatra in Indonesien lebt der vom Aussterben bedrohte Sumatra-Tiger. Brände, Holzschlag, Monokulturen und Jagd bedrohen die Bestände zunehmend. Die AWP unterstützte den WWF vor Ort mit Kamerafallen, die zur Beobachtung der Tiger und der Entwicklung ihrer Populationen aber auch zum Aufspüren von Wilderern genutzt werden können. Zudem kann anhand der Bilder aus den Kamerafallen die Existenz der Tiger in bestimmten Gebieten bewiesen und so deren Schutz gefördert werden.

Die AWP im Kaukasus

Armenien
Nirgendwo weltweit haben Wälder der gemäßigten Zone noch eine größere Artenvielfalt als im Kaukasus. Auf lediglich einem Viertel der Fläche ist die Natur noch intakt. Es gibt viele seltene Arten, wie den Kaukasusleopard, Wölfe, Luchse, den kaukasischen Steinbock oder Braunbären. Die AWP war in Armenien, um einen Lada-Geländewagen für den Wildtierschutz zur Verfügung zu stellen. Mit dem Geländewagen sollen die Patrouillen gestärkt werden, welche die Wilderer daran hindern, in dem Gebiet zu jagen.

Gorillas im Nationalpark Campo Ma'an

Kamerun
Mit 20 Kamerafallen und einem Feldlabor im Gepäck reiste die AWP nach Kamerun, um dort im Nationalpark Campo Ma’an die Arbeit des WWF zu unterstützen. Mit den Kamerafallen können bedrohte Tierarten überwacht werden und die Bestandsentwicklung bzw. das Vorkommen gemessen werden. Dazu kommt die Beschaffung einer Feldlaborausrüstung zum Gesundheitsmonitoring der Gorillas. Damit sollen Erkrankungen erkannt, Übertragungen zwischen Mensch und Tier verhindert und Seuchen vorgebeugt werden.

Pilotprojekt Donaubild

Donauraum
Nachdem die AWP von Ana Tudors Rekordbild gehört hatte, begab sie sich nach Serbien, um mit der Malerin über eine große Wanderausstellung und das Bild zu sprechen. Zudem sollten in einem Pilotprojekt erste Erfahrungen mit dem Bild gesammelt und kleine Ausstellungen in der Region realisiert werden. Die begeisterten Rückmeldungen der Besucher der Ausstellungen sowie die positiven Erfahrungen mit dem Bild ermutigten die AWP, das Projekt in einem großen Rahmen entlang der Donau auszustellen und ein entsprechendes Projekt vorzubereiten.

Der Europäische Nerz

Estland
Die AWP unterstützte die Aufzucht des stark bedrohten Europäischen Nerzes. Wir förderten die Brutstation von Tiit Maran im Zoo Tallin in Estland. Zunehmende Industrialisierung und die Entwicklung der Landwirtschaft verdrängen den Europäischen Nerz aus seinem Lebensraum. Flussbegradigungen und Gewässerverschmutzung machen ihm das Leben schwer. Die Pelzindustrie hat zudem einen starken Nahrungs- und Wohnraumkonkurrenten eingeschleppt: den Amerikanischen Nerz. Nach der Ausbeutung durch den Menschen zählt der Europäische Nerz heute zu den am meisten gefährdeten Säugetieren in Europa.

Ein Schutzgebiet am Rio Tapiche

Peru
Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen nicht geschützten Gebieten im Amazonasgebiet ist der menschliche Einfluss am Rio Tapiche noch sehr gering und der Wald weitgehend unberührt. Auf verhältnismäßig kleinem Areal gibt es eine große Vielfalt an Lebensräumen und Arten, es kommen bis zu 18 Primatenformen vor. Die AWP unterstützte “Chances for Natur” bei ihrem Anliegen, das Gebiet zu einem Schutzgebiet zu erklären, mit der Spende von zwei Holzbooten. Eines davon hat einen Verbrennungsmotor zur schnellen Fortbewegung, das andere einen solarbetriebenen Elektromotor, zur umweltfreundlichen und geräuschlosen Fortbewegung.

Eine Werkstatt für Dzanga-Sangha

Zentralafrika
Das erste Projekt der AWP war die Finanzierung einer Autowerkstatt für Zentralafrika. Der Nationalpark Dzanga-Sangha beherbergt neben zahlreichen weiteren Arten auch den westlichen Flachlandgorilla. In Kooperation mit dem WWF Deutschland konnte umfangreiches Material zur Reparatur von Fahrzeugen nach Zentralafrika verschifft und dort aufgebaut werden. Auch Ausrüstung für die Ranger wurde angeschafft. Dank der Werkstatt können die Organisationen vor Ort ihre Fahrzeuge warten und reparieren und für den Artenschutz einsetzen. Zudem konnten mit der Werkstatt Arbeits- und Ausbildungsplätze geschaffen werden.

Ein mobiles Kino zur Umweltbildung

Madagaskar
Die AWP hat in Madagaskar ein mobiles Kino aufgebaut, das als wesentlicher Bestandteil einer Bildungsmaßnahme für den Natur- und Artenschutz dient. Das Besondere: Das Kino kann allein durch Muskelkraft bedient werden und versorgt sich selbst mit Strom. Ein Fahrrad treibt einen Dynamo an, der Strom erzeugt. So kann das Bild selbst mitten im Dschungel auf die Leinwand projiziert werden. Im Filmprogramm sind Infobeiträge über die einzigartige aber bedrohte Tierwelt Madagaskars.